Statement on Anti-Asian Violence

The Asian Descent Presidents and Deans Affinity Group of the Association of Theological Schools

March 24, 2021

We, the Asian Descent Presidents and Deans, of the Association of Theological Schools (ATS) condemn and denounce every form of attack against Asians and Asian Americans in the strongest possible terms. As a minoritized group, Asian Americans have been historically subject to harassment, discrimination, violence, and mass incarceration. The recent targeted violent and brutal attacks on the members of our community are abhorrent manifestations of perennial racism against the Americans of Asian descent in our country. The targeted violence unto killing of the most vulnerable—women and the elderly—is especially deplorable. It is a direct assault on our community that honors and values family deeply. We reject white supremacy and xenophobia and urge an end to the scapegoating of Asian and Asian Americans for the pandemic.

The Asian and Asian American community is an ethnically and culturally diverse group that has made valuable contributions to our society—particularly so during this pandemic. We claim our rightful place in our country and demand to be treated equally and with dignity. We ask all of us to respect and protect the life of every member of our community.

We call upon all members of ATS to speak against anti-Asian racism in our institution and nation. We ask you to join in our fight for justice and the equal rights of people of Asian descent, as each and every one of us is called to bear witness to God's justice and mercy for all people.

The members and friends of the Asian Descent Presidents and Deans Affinity Group at the Association of Theological Schools listed below do hereby stand in solidarity as the signatories of the Statement:

- **Dr. Susan Abraham**, Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculty, Pacific School of Religion | Vice-Chair, ATS Asian Descent Presidents and Deans Affinity Group
- **Dr. Deborah H. C. Gin**, Director of Research and Faculty Development, The Association of Theological Schools | The Commission on Accrediting
- **Rev. Dr. David S. Han**, Dean of the Faculty and Vice-President for Academics, Pentecostal Theological Seminary | Chair, ATS Asian Descent Presidents and Deans Affinity Group
- **Rev. Dr. Jin K. Hwang**, The School of Divinity, Georgia Central University
- Dr. Hyunwan Kim, Academic Dean of the Graduate School, Grace Mission University
- Dr. Uriah Y. Kim, President, Graduate Theological Union
- Rev. Dr. Kah-Jin Jeffrey Kuan, President, Claremont School of Theology
- Rev. Dr. Boyung Lee, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculty, Iliff School of Theology
- **Rev. Dr. James Seung-Hyun Lee**, President, International Theological Seminary | Steering Committee Member, Asian Descent Presidents and Deans Affinity Group
- Rev. Dr. John Y. Lee, Academic Dean, John Leland Center for Theological Studies
- Dr. Sanghoon Lee, President, America Evangelical University Graduate School of Theology
- Dr. Sang Meyng Lee, President, Presbyterian Theological Seminary in America
- Dr. Katheryn Leung, President, China Evangelical Seminary North America
- Rev. Dr. Kuo-Liang Lin, President, Logos Evangelical Seminary
- Dr. Amir Hussain, Chair of Theological Studies, Loyola Marymount University
- Rev. Dr. Wonsuk Ma, Dean of the College of Theology and Ministry, Oral Roberts University
- **Rev. Dr. Deborah Flemister Mullen**, Columbia Theological Seminary | Past Co-Convener of the ATS African American Presidents and Deans Group

- Rev. Dr. Damayanthi Niles, Interim Academic Dean, Eden Theological Seminary
- **Rev. Dr. Alvin Padilla**, Vice President of Strategic Initiatives and Director of Advanced Degrees, Western Theological Seminary
- Dr. Rollin A. Ramsaran, Academic Dean, Emmanuel Christian Seminary at Milligan
- **Dr. Lester Edwin J. Ruiz**, Director of Accreditation and Global Engagement, The Association of Theological Schools | The Commission on Accrediting
- Rev. Dr. J. Jayakiran Sebastian, Dean of the Seminary, United Lutheran Seminary
- Rev. Seon Mook Shin, Vice President, World Mission University School of Theology
- **Dr. Chloe Sun**, Academic Dean, Logos Evangelical Seminary | Steering Committee Member, Asian Descent Presidents and Deans Affinity Group
- **Rev. Christopher M. The**, PhD Cand., Director of Commission Information Services, The Association of Theological Schools | The Commission on Accrediting
- Dr. Felix Theonugraha, President, Western Theological Seminary
- **Dr. Mai-Anh Le Tran**, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Academic Dean, Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary
- **Dr. David Vásquez-Levy**, President, Pacific School of Religion | Convener of the ATS LatinX Presidents and Deans
- **Dr. Frank Yamada**, Executive Director, The Association of Theological Schools | The Commission on Accrediting
- **Dr. Mary H. Young**, Director of Leadership Education, The Association of Theological Schools | The Commission on Accrediting
- **Dr. Amos Yong**, Dean of the School of Theology and the School of Intercultural Studies, Fuller Theological Seminary