Our People

Our Faculty

Our faculty strongly believe in practicing what they preach. As educators, they are dedicated to scholarship, publishing in their disciplines, and cultivating a lifelong passion for learning and understanding that they also encourage in their students. As community leaders, they set an example through active participation in their own churches, serving others, and fighting for the greater good. And you can always find them fostering an ongoing interfaith dialogue.

We're All Family

Eden’s faculty is as diverse as our twenty-first-century world. There is no party line at Eden—we believe all peoples and faiths are like cousins, and as President David Greenhaw says, “Families don’t always agree, but they are bound together.”

Wherever our students go, our faculty is right alongside them, whether it’s pushing them to think differently in the classroom, playing a game of softball, sharing a meal after a lecture, or protesting in the streets against injustice. You’re not just a number at Eden—you’re family.

Our Motto

“In essentials unity, in nonessentials liberty, in all things charity!”

From Our Students

Seeing our students flourish is one of our greatest joys as educators. Here’s what some current and former Eden students have to say about our faculty.


“All the faculty treated us from day one as colleagues and partners in ministry. This means everything to me and affirmed my calling.”
—Paul Koch, alum


“The thing I appreciate most about the faculty is their transparency, their accessibility, and at times their vulnerability. The other thing I have come to appreciate more and more is their scholarship and their ability to push us, even if we don’t want to be pushed past our comfort zone.”
—Antona Brent Smith, student


“I appreciate Eden’s faculty for respectfully pushing and challenging me to articulate my faith and beliefs. It was a great way to acknowledge [that] my personal embedded theology can often place emphasis on things not necessarily Biblical.”
—Bryant Nelson, student

Get To Know Our Faculty
President | Professor of Preaching and Worship
Associate Professor of Preaching and Worship | Associate Dean of the Chapel
Associate Dean of Academic Affairs | Associate Professor of Old Testament
Professor of New Testament
Professor of Pastoral Theology and Care
Evangelical Professor of Biblical Interpretation
Professor of Constructive Theology
Assistant Professor of Church History and Historical Theology
Assistant Professor of Theology and Ethics
Acting Dean of the Seminary | Professor of Theological Ethics
Admissions Staff
Rev. Tiffany Pittman
Director of Admissions
Dana McNamara
Admissions Counselor
Jennifer Bardot
Financial Aid Coordinator
Rhonda Lally
Administrative Coordinator
Archives Staff
Scott Holl
Communications Staff
Lisa Brown
Director of Communications
Contextual Education Staff
Rev. Carol Shanks
Director of Contextual Education
Dean's Office Staff
Dr. Sharon Tan
Acting Dean of the Seminary
Michelle Wobbe
Registrar and Director of Assessment
Monica Peterson
Administrative Assistant
Denise Stauffer
Director of Academic Programs, Secretary to Board of Trustees
Finance Office Staff
Tammy Craig
Chief Financial Officer
Trina Owens
Director of Accounting
Kelly Johnson
Institutional Advancement Staff
Sandi Lafata
Director of Development
Lorin Cope
Director of Advancement for UCC Church Giving
Rhonda Lally
Administrative Coordinator
Library Staff
Bob Scheef
LIFE Program Staff
Jill Schantz
Director of LIFE programs and International Student Support
Music Staff
Paul Vasile
Director of Music
President's Office
Danita Jackson Carter
Executive Assistant to the President
Walker Leadership Institute Staff
Steve Lawler
Sonya Vann
Director of New Programs
Anne Grothe
Administrative Assistant
Our Board of Trustees

Rev. Susan Artt
Denver, CO

Ms. Karen Branding
St. Louis, MO

Rev. Dr. Willliam G. Chrystal
Charlotte Court House, VA

Rev. Karla J. Cooper
Lincoln, NE

Ms. Merry Dahms
St. Louis, MO

Dr. Jane Zimmer Daniels
Kaiser, MO

Mr. Michael Downs
New York, NY

Rev. Dr. Jo Hudson
Dallas, TX

Mr. Ward Klein
St. Louis, MO

Mr. David Luckes
St. Louis, MO

Mr. Timothy Luehrman
Belmont, MA

Rev. Nelson Pierce Jr.
Cincinnati, OH

Mr. Larry D. Richardson
St. Louis, MO

Ms. Susan Nell Rowe
St. Louis, MO

Mr. David Sauerhoff
St. Louis, MO

Mr. Mark Schafale
Beaver Falls, PA

Ms. Darlene Sowell
St. Louis, MO

Dr. Susan S. Stepleton
Webster Groves, MO

Mr. Noah Jensen Tabor
Des Moines, IA

Dr. Thomas K. Tiemann
Elon, NC

Dr. Carol B. Walker
St. Louis, MO

Rev. Andrew Warner
Milwaukee, WI

Rev. Dr. Suzanne Webb
St. Louis, MO

Rev. Dr. Stephanie Weiner
Evansville, IL

Rev. Dr. Jesse Williams Jr.
New York, NY

Rev. Anne Asper Wilson
St. Louis, MO